The Big Day

Date: March 12th
Day: 1
Miles from Springer: 8.1
Miles to Katahdin: 2181.1
Morale: 5/5

image

A little throwback Thursday action for my first post from the trail. This picture is from my first steps on the A.T. when I was just four years old. Today I took the first steps of a journey that has been fourteen years in the making.

image

Springer Mtn. Summit. Photo: Dad

The flight down went off without a hitch, and my dad and I checked into our hotel in Atlanta at about 6:30 last night. This morning, Survivor Dave’s Trail Shuttle picked us up at 7:15 and took us up the winding U.S. Forest Service road to the trail head. From there we summited Springer, and hiked about five miles to a second parking lot where Dave picked up my dad, and sent me on my way.

Now I could write all about the trail conditions, the terrain, the weather, and other petty details, but the thing that struck me the most about today was the people. I have never met so many kind and interesting strangers in my life. From Shaun in the shuttle, to the 70 year old two-time thru hiker I met at the second parking lot, everyone has been amazing. It is day one, and I feel as if we have all been walking together for a thousand miles. I have met so many interesting people here at Hawk Mountain Shelter where I am tenting (this post was made at Hawk Mountain Shelter but I don’t know when or where it will be published, depends on service.) One gentleman who goes by the name of Gadget, is keeping a log of where everyone is from. It is day two and he has met people from fourteen different states and five different countries. People from all different backgrounds are pulling together and working as a team everywhere you look. In one direction Greg or “Wings” from Texas is helping Maggie from Oregon hang her food bag, and in the other, Ray from Kentucky is lending his stove to Ellena from Germany who lost her fuel. Forgive me for gushing about all of these wonderful people but it is such a refreshing experience that I can’t help but blab about it. I would love to elaborate further and give the background of everyone I’ve met, but typing on this phone is less than enjoyable so I think I’ll keep it short.

I know that it is cliche` and all but today’s QOTP is: “A journey of 1000 miles begins with a single step” -Lazoi

In case you didn’t notice, up at the top I put a little stats section that will be at the top of every post from now on as a quick reference to my progress. Thanks for reading!

5 thoughts on “The Big Day

  1. Love the picture! I remember when you looked like that! So cool that your hat still fits! Looking forward to following you on your trek! Michelle

    Like

  2. Gush all you want about the good folks around you. That’s the joy of people with shared interests. We’ll be charting your progress on the map in my classroom at CHS.

    Like

Leave a Reply

